CCS Member Login


[+] About CCS


[+] Join/Support CCS


[+] Conferences


[+] CCS Publications


[+] CCS Resources


CCS Store Front


CCS Home Page


Comparative Cognition Society Research Award

The CCS Research Award honors scientists who have made major contributions to our understanding of animal cognition during their career.  Recipients of the award give a Master Lecture at the Conference on Comparative Cognition and are honored at the conference banquet. Videos of most Master Lectures are provided on the CCS YouTube Channel

2025 — Suzanne MacDonald (York University)

2024 — Nicky Clayton (University of Cambridge)

2023 — Ken Cheng (Macquarie University)

2022 — Sarah Boysen (Comparative Cognition Project & Purdue University)

2021 — David Sherry (Western University)

2020 — Irene Pepperberg (Harvard University)

2019 — Stephen E. G. Lea (University of Exeter)

2018 — Marcia Spetch (University of Alberta)

2017 — Ralph R. Miller (Binghamton University - SUNY)

2016 — Karen Hollis (Mount Holyoke University)

2015 — Edward Wasserman (University of Iowa)

2014 — Thomas Zentall (University of Kentucky)

2013 — Alan C. Kamil (University of Nebraska - Lincoln)

2012 — Anthony Wright (University of Texas Medical School at Houston)

2011 — Alex Kacelnik (University of Oxford)

2010 — Donald A. Riley (University of California, Berkeley)

2009 — Herbert Terrace (Columbia University)

2008 — Sara Shettleworth (University of Toronto)

2007 — Ron Weisman (Queen's University)

2006 — Russell Church (Brown University)

2005 — William Roberts (University of Western Ontario)

2004 — Donald Blough (Brown University)

2002 — Stewart Hulse (Johns Hopkins University)


CCS also supports an annual Early Career Award and a plethora of Student Awards.